Two Emotions Introduction

A while back I heard a lecture series on recovery concepts given by a gnarled old man who worked on race cars for fun and saved lives for work.  Of all his lectures – each one somewhat memorable – one sticks out far more than all of the rest.  On a cold December morning he forced me to live up to the principles that governed my life and the emotions that governed my actions.  According to him we have only two emotions, love and fear.  And wherever there is love, fear cannot exist.  At the time I was living in almost complete fear; I was afraid that my mother (who had Alzheimer’s disease) would pass away with complete loss of self; I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to take care of her.  I was to learn a way of living that allowed me to move into the uncertain future without fear, to effectively care for my mother, and to help others do the same.

This blog is only loosely based on the Two Emotions concept.  It is really about the caregiving concepts that allow us to care for our loved ones, tools for the care of a loved one, and news in research.  Join us and let us know what you think!

~ by dobriensd on September 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
